Skip to Main Content

Walkenhorst BMW leads the charge to #Indy8H Pole Shootout

Walkenhorst BMW leads the charge to #Indy8H Pole Shootout

> BMW squad delivers impressive qualifying performance 
> GMG Racing Audi secures GT4 class pole
> Results: Q1 | Q2 | Q3 | Combined

BMW squad Walkenhorst Motorsport led the charge into today's Indianapolis 8 Hour Pole Shootout with an assured qualifying performance at the Brickyard.

American star Connor De Phillippi set the pace in the opening 15-minute segment, posting a 1m23.094s at the wheel of the German squad's #34 M6 GT3. No one could beat that benchmark in Q2, though teammate Nicky Catsburg came closest with a 1m23.111s.

This put the Walkenhorst crew in a commanding position ahead of the final qualifying run, which saw Augusto Farfus circulate in 1m23.387s. Though not the fastest in his session, the Brazilian's effort was enough to cement top spot by 0.047s on average times.

Team Honda Racing was second after Dane Cameron, Mario Farnbacher and Renger van der Zande all lapped within 0.1 seconds of each other in the #30 NSX. Their average was two tenths faster than that of K-PAX Racing's #7 Bentley, which vaulted to the front after a particularly rapid Q3 lap by Jules Gounon.

The #35 Walkenhorst BMW completed a fine showing by the German squad in fourth, followed by the #93 Racers Edge Honda/Acura and the #31 Audi Sport Team Hardpoint WRT machine. The #20 Wright Motorsports Porsche was seventh, its progress aided by a blistering 1m22.915s lap from Jan Heylen. Indeed, the Belgian was the only man to break the 1m23 barrier in today's qualifying.

The #6 Vital Speed Ferrari was next on the timing screen, followed by the leading Pro-Am runners: Squadra Corse's #1 Ferrari and the #63 DXDT Racing Mercedes. This group of 10 cars will battle for a place at the front of the grid in this afternoon's Pole Shootout, which gets underway at 17.30 ET (21.30 GMT).

Elsewhere, the #8 GMG Racing Audi earned GT4 pole with a handy advantage over its closest competitor. The combination of James Sofronas, Elias Sabo and Andy Lee were almost half a second quicker than the #33 Notlad Racing by RS1 Aston Martin, which had earlier led the way in Pre-Qualifying. The #69 BGB Motorsports Porsche was third, followed by the #438 ST Racing BMW.

The Pole Shootout will see each competing crew nominate one driver to stake their claim for the front of the grid. They will have 15 minutes in which to set a time, with no restriction on the number of laps run. The session will air live on Intercontinental’s website and Facebook page, as well as SRO’s GT World YouTube channel.